Chanatown

Icon

Unless proven otherwise, this will be another blog that I’ll fail to update after a week or so.

How to wirelessly sync your iPhone with Google Calendar: Hello, Saisuke.

After writing about how I’ve managed to sync my Outlook, Google Calendar, and iPhone harmoniously together, I soon became obsessed with how to achieve this feat wirelessly or OTA (Over The Air), if you will. After a good hour (maybe more) of searching, I realized that my options were limited. In the free corner (where I like to spend most of my time), there was a workaround that featured a program called NemusSync. This required a jailbroken phone, and I have yet to explore this area. Another popular free option was Nuevasync. It turned out that this option was not going to work for me since I have a Microsoft Exchange account at work, and it was not going to play nicely with this program. Plus, I wanted something simpler, an option that didn’t involve me playing around with various settings and options. After all, simplicity is one of the areas where the iPhone excels. Why should I settle for less now?

month view

Pay for what you get.

It turned out I was going to have to go the paid route (I’ve only purchased one app before – Koi Pond, just to see what everyone was raving about – more on that to come). One program that intrigued me was Pocket Informant, by WebIS. I used this program back in my Windows Mobile days, and was blown away by the amount of detail and customization that this program offered. Unfortunately, this app is not out yet, and I just couldn’t wait. Another application that kept coming up in searches and was available now was Saisuke, and the more I read, the more I liked. With Saisuke, you get an upgraded calendar and the ability to wirelessly sync with Google Calendar. Now, I must admit, I liked the native calendar that came with the iPhone. And after discovering how to sync multiple calendars in the colors that I used on Google, I was not able to give up that feature. Fortunately, Saisuke allows me to do everything aforementioned and does it wirelessly. I didn’t realize it until later, but I feel a lot more free now that I don’t have to connect my iPhone to my home computer (I invested in a car adapter, so that’s where my iPhone gets replenished) except for backups.

week

A week’s worth of work

As mentioned above, Saisuke features a calendar upgrade. Most of the reviews that I’ve read rave about the inclusion of a Week view for you calendar. I’ve never been a huge fan of week views, but I do like this one. I prefer the List view, and again, while the native calendar app did a fine job, Saisuke preserves this view nicely and adds the OTA ability. One additional feature is the ability to swipe horizontally. This is a nice option for the day and week views, though in all honesty, it was a bit sluggish/unresponsive at times, so I don’t use it as much. One additional note is that Saisuke is a stand-alone calendar application, meaning it will not sync your native iPhone calendar app. Thus, I moved Saisuke to my front page apps, and moved the now useless native calendar to the back (if only I could keep that icon…)

OTA

The one feature that I was desperately searching for proves to be a major strength for Saisuke. With the touch of a button, I am able to wireless sync my iPhone calendar to my multiple Google calendars. The sync is very fast (under 5-10 seconds depending on number of records needed to sync) though I had to toggle some options to achieve this feat. First, Saisuke offered me the option to sync my tasks since I have Remember the Milk in my Google calendar. This was a major slowdown for the application, so I’m not recommending this setting. Besides, if you’re a RTM pro user, you’ll want the native RTM app instead. Second, there is an option to auto-login to Google Calendar. I found that this delayed startup (naturally), and since I wanted my calendar to start up as quickly as possible (sometimes, I just want to look at my events and not edit them), I disabled this setting. With auto-login off, my calendar loads quickly, just about 1-2 seconds longer than the native calendar app. One setting that I did leave on was the “sync at single edit” option. Whenever I change an item on the Saisuke calendar, the program automatically syncs this event with my Google Calendar. It does this rather quickly, so I’m inclined to leave the setting on, just in case I forget to sync my whole calendar again.

So, is it worth $9.99?

Perhaps, it was because I became obsessed with finding a solution to the OTA sync with GCal that I am extremely pleased with Saisuke. The shortcomings (can’t create repeating events, can’t edit repeating events, occasionally sluggishness) in my opinion are minor, but may be dealbreakers for users who need these particular functions. For me, the important feature was the ability to wirelessly sync and in this, Saisuke exceeds my expectations. As I mentioned above, I am now less tied to my home computer, and more in tune with my calendar. And while Mobile Me may provide a lot more functionality, I’m determined to achieve the most desired functions (OTA sync being one of them) at a much lower price.

Filed under: iPhone, iPhone Apps, Reviews, , , , , , ,

7 Responses

  1. Srinu says:

    I highly recommend SaiSuke. I have used nuevasync for several weeks but all of a sudden it started freezing up my iPhone.

    I also like the features of Saisuke better than the native calendar on the phone. Only feature I wish we could have on Saisuke is PUSH capability.

    regards,
    srinu

  2. Bill says:

    I use nuevasync and it works like a charm. I particularly like the contacts synching that it also manages.

    So far I have had no bad experiences with it; amazing considering it’s free.

    • DC says:

      Bill,

      I’m glad Nuevasync is working well. Lately, I’ve considered switching over because of the contacts sync option. Still waiting for the ultimate PIM app for the iPhone…

  3. Calton says:

    I want to download the full version of saisuke but I want to know if it allows you to sync more than 1 week ahead in your calendars. For example, right now I have the free version and it only will sync my google calendar one week in advance.

    • DC says:

      Saisuke does indeed allow you more than 1 week. I’ve been using Google’s Sync and have been very impressed. It’s push, so it’s fast. The only downside is that it takes up your exchange account, so if you have a work exchange account, you won’t be able to use both. Let me know if you have other questions. DC

      • Harold Rears says:

        Is it only the full verison the updates more than a week at a time. Or can the free verizon do this also.

      • DC says:

        Yes, I believe the free version only updates one week. Unless you want the week view or alerts, I’d recommend Google Sync or syncing with CalDAV with the 3.0 update. No need for Saisuke anymore!

Leave a Reply

