Chanatown

Icon

Unless proven otherwise, this will be another blog that I’ll fail to update after a week or so.

Got Milk? Remember the Milk – iPhone WebApp review

Well, T and I are up in Galena, IL working on wedding planning stuff. It’s time for a tech break!

A few posts back, I wrote about how I am using Evernote to stay on top of things and try to keep my “Inbox Zero” dream a reality. Before I discovered Evernote, I was and am continuing to use Remember the Milk (RTM) to keep track of all of my to-do’s. There are a lot of to-do list helpers, programs, and now, iPhone native apps. I’ve tried quite a few, but RTM is one that I’ve stuck with for awhile now. Although there is no native app yet, they are working on one, and until then, you’ll have two options: the webapp (free but slow) and Appigo’s ToDo ($9.99).

As you can see in the picture, I have several lists that I use to keep track of my to-dos. For my lists, I most often use these:

– “Calls” (people I need to get a hold of)
– “Gifts” (whenever I get an idea of a nice gift for someone, I’ll log it in here.)
– “Grocery List” (whenever we run out of something, I pop it on the list.)
– “Home” (chores, cleaning, things to-do around the house)
– “Personal” (anything non-work related)
– “Wedding” (this one has been useful as we’ve gotten closer to the big day and will be replaced by any special projects that are in the works)
– “Work” (tasks related to teaching or my online instruction courses)

With the iPhone webapp (requires a RTM PRO account, $25/year), I pretty much have access to the same interface as the web version. Since it’s a webapp, its performance is linked to your connection speed, so WiFi and 3G are generally quite responsive, while EDGE is headache prone. As mentioned above, I’m holding out for a native app, but Appigo’s ToDo has gotten solid reviews, and seems to sync well with RTM.

Filed under: iPhone, iPhone Apps, Reviews, , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses

  1. Tim Rueb says:

    I use “Remember the Milk” but don’t have an iPhone yet. I love the way it connects to my Google apps and Jott. Looking forward to the day I also use it from my iPhone.

  2. chanatown says:

    I agree. I was definitely using RTM before the iPhone came out, and it’s just an additional convenience to have access to my lists at all times (or at least when I’m connected). Cheers!

Leave a Reply

