Chanatown

Icon

Unless proven otherwise, this will be another blog that I’ll fail to update after a week or so.

100,000 miles and counting…down to the 2010 Prius.

Well, special thanks to T for taking this photo (along with several others – I was adamant about capturing the moment) of my Nissan Altima turning 100,000. This is the first car that I’ve owned (thanks to my ‘rents for some help as well) and I’m happy to see it make it this far. And since T and I are getting married this year, we’re going to have to hold out just a bit longer for a new car. This will hopefully coincide well with the new 2010 Prius to be released in the fall of 2009.

We drove a rental Prius on a recent trip to California. It’s pretty cool that they let you rent these cars, though once we were on the California roads, it seemed as if we were in the majority, rather than the minority. For all you gadget guys and gals, you’ll love the Prius. Seriously, I am sold. Before we rented one, I ordered brochures of cars I thought would be in the running for the Altima’s replacement: BMW 3-series, Acura TL, Infiniti G35, Lexus IS250, Honda Civic, and the Prius. I was awed by the Beamer’s “Ultimate Driving Machine” label, the TL’s all around performance, the G35’s style, the IS’s sportiness, and the Civic’s durability. Where the Prius lacked in these areas, it more than made up in terms of space, comfort, and gadgets! The Prius takes a bit of time to get used to visually. However, I suspect it’s one of those things that you end up either loving or hating.

I now heart the Prius. This came mostly after driving one for a few days. As I mentioned earlier, the Prius is essentially a gadget on wheels. I found it mesmerizing to watch the energy conversion and it seemed like I was playing a video game while driving as I saved more gas and strived for the high score in the MPG “game”. Add to that a navigation system, the nice interface with the CD/Radio on the dash, that quirky push button start, and the keyless entry systems, and you’ve got more gizmos in a car than any other one I’ve seen.

With regards to the 2010 design, I’m looking forward to the new styling (slightly bigger, yet less boxy), a stronger engine (1.6 L), and even better mileage (short of 100 mpg, I’m sure, but more than 40). I hope they don’t skimp on the gadgets as they move forward with the new line. Waiting list, here I come!

Filed under: Life's Important Questions, , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

