Chanatown

Icon

Unless proven otherwise, this will be another blog that I’ll fail to update after a week or so.

Evernote – iPhone app review


On my neverending quest to achieve “Inbox Zero” (no unread or unresponded to emails in the inbox), I came across a nifty little application that seems to make my goal that much more attainable. I can’t take credit for finding it on my own. When T and I were wishing M and L the best of luck on their move to Texas at a local bar, B, a tech guru in his own right, was showing off some of his apps (you know you’ve had similar dorky iPhone conversations yourself, admit it!), and I happened to see Evernote on his screen.

I looked it up later that night, and became hooked shortly after. Evernote is a multi-platform (PC, Mac, Web, iPhone) application that essentially is a big portable clipboard. At home, on my PC (where I am tied to my Microsoft Outlook), I can take emails that I’ve read and copy/paste their material into a note on Evernote. For example, last week, I ordered IMAX tickets to see Batman at Navy Pier (if you haven’t seen it, do it – you won’t regret it. if you have seen it, see it again in IMAX – it’s worth the 15 ducats). Upon receipt of the confirmation, normally, I would have kept the email in my Inbox or filed it in a “Saves” folder. With Evernote, I simply copy/pasted and then filed the email outside of my Inbox. When we saw the movie yesterday, I pulled up Evernote, and I had the confirmation number ready to go. Granted, if I didn’t have an online connection, I would have been in trouble, but I haven’t run into a problem with that yet.

It gets better. Evernote keeps all of the formatting as if you were looking directly at the source. I now copy/paste recipes, spreadsheets, and webpages regularly. This offsets the fact that the iPhone cannot store files, and is a nice go-around until it finally does. For example, my church just sent out an Excel spreadsheet that has all of the Eucharistic Ministers for the next few months. I opened the file, copy/pasted into Evernote, and I now have it available online and on my iPhone. The iPhone app, in addition to letting you view your notes, allows you to take new notes via Text, Snapshots, Saved Photos, and Voice. I’ve used the voice note as a way to remember a to-do or quick note. This ability allowed me to get rid of other iPhone apps like ReQall or Jott. Evernote does not transcribe the voice notes, but I found those services to be cumbersome and erratic at best.

In summary, Evernote does an excellent job of storing important information in its original format. It is very easy to use, has an excellent search function (can supposedly find words in pictures too), and can be used on a variety of platforms. Some disadvantages (to prove that I’m not an Evernote employee) include: no support for Macs running Tiger (Leopard and above – which forces me to use only the web version on my Macbook), some notes cannot be edited on the iPhone (though I think in earlier versions, you couldn’t edit notes at all), no copy/paste of webpages to save as a note on the iPhone (that’s a big one, actually) and limited monthly usage for the free account (I haven’t come close to hitting this yet).

Even as I was writing this, I realized how cool this program is, and how it can indeed act as a file storage solution until a more official method is included from Apple. Let me know what you think, or how else you might use Evernote or other apps to help you achieve “Inbox Zero”.

Filed under: iPhone, iPhone Apps, Reviews, , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses

  1. AlexM says:

    Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!

  2. Mike says:

    Evernote is the way to go. Good review.

  3. masahira says:

    i agreed with author. thanksqz

Leave a Reply

